Tuesday, May 7, 2013

MSE Celebration and Recognition Tea Time

On Wednesday, May 1st, the MSE community gathered at 3:00 in Wilsdorf 101 to celebrate the accomplishments of our graduate and undergraduate students.

2013 Doris Kuhlmann Wilsdorf Outstanding Graduate Student Award Eric J. Schindelholz: recognizing his “outstanding research achievements and exemplary contributions to the advancement of the MSE academic mission.”

2013 Fred D. Rosi Outstanding Citizen AwardBradley T. Richards: recognizing his “overall contributions to the academic, educational and outreach goals of the MSE department and for exemplary teamwork.”

“In recognition of notable teaching and considerable skill in motivating and inspiring students, the University of Virginia presents its 2012-2013 Outstanding GTA Award in the School of Engineering and Applied Science Department of Materials Science and Engineering to” Matthew A. Steiner.

2013 Materials Science and Engineering Distinguished Undergraduate AwardMark Hrdy: recognizing his “outstanding academic achievement and good citizenship.”

2013 Engineering Science Distinguished Undergraduate Award- Jeffrey R. O’Dell: recognizing his “exceptional achievement in research and academics.” 

4th Year Engineering Science student Carolyn Pelnik was recognized at the Tea Time for having received the SEAS Outstanding Student Award at the SEAS garden party on April 26th.

2013 Engineering Science Poster Symposium Awards:


First place: Matthew Perez

Second place: Dylan Royston and Jeffrey O’Dell (tie) 

Third place: Regan O’Brien


First place:

Patrick Andersen

Keith Thomas

Niduk Basnayake

Second place:

Venita Jones

Mary Wright