Monday, March 1, 2010

CESE Students Excel at NACE 2010 Conference

At the annual National Association of Corrosion Engineers conference held March 2010, four students with U.Va's Center for Electrochemical Studies and Engineering won honors. Of the 90 eligiable posters, there were nine awarded top honors; four went to UVA students

Applied Corrosion Technology 
2nd place: Andrew King

Applied Corrosion Technology 
3rd place: Eric Schindelholtz

Corrosion Science
1st place: Lei Chen
(Systems Engineering)

Corrosion Science
3rd place: Arwen Wilson

Congratulations to all!

Saturday, January 30, 2010

One Year: Five PhD's

The Wadley Group had a banner year with five students graduating.

Friday, January 1, 2010

Kiril Simov Selected as Finalist at AVS Symposium

Kiril Simov won a Leo M. Falicov Student Award as a finalist for the best presentation at this year's 57th annual American Vacuum Society's International Symposium held in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
In total, there were three finalist student awards ($500 each) and one 1st prize.The division award recognizes outstanding research preformed by a graduate student working in an area related to interests of the Magnetic Interfaces and Nanostructures Division as well as evaluating the the quality of the oral presentation. Kiril presented his recent findings in his talk entitled: "Growth and Magnetism of Mn-nanostructures Embedded in a Group IV Semiconductor Matrix"

Rob Kelly Elected Fellow of the Electrochemical Society

Congratulations to Prof. Robert Kelly on his election to Fellow of the Electrochemical Society. Professor Kelly's induction is the result of his exceptional contributions to corrosion science particularly in the areas of corrosion chemistry analysis and interpretation, localized corrosion, corrosion modeling as well as atmospheric corrosion processes. The electrochemical society has numerous divisions covering many aspects of electrochemical phenomena. Election to Fellow of the Society is tightly regulated to just a small fraction of the entire society membership and competition amongst divisions for election is fierce.

From ECS Fall Meeting:

Professor Kelly's research centers on the corrosion of materials with a focus on understanding the underlying mechanisms and developing approaches to management of corrosion damage by applying new experimental methods and computational approaches. Prof. Kelly's past efforts have included work on the corrosion of metals and alloys in marine environments, non-aqueous and mixed solvents, as well as stress-corrosion cracking and other forms of localized corrosion. Prof. Kelly is currently working with his students and colleagues at UVa and elsewhere on studies of intergranular corrosion of marine aluminum alloys, development of improved accelerated testing, as well as corrosion sensing systems for reinforced concrete and intergranular corrosion, and modeling of corrosion processesover many size scales.

Prof. Kelly has co-authored over seventy papers, presented fifty invited talks and is the Co-Director of the Center for Electrochemical Science and Engineering at UVa. He was selected as the recipient of the 1997 A. B. Campbell Award for the best paper by an author 35 years old or younger and the 1999 H. H. Uhlig Award for young corrosion educators from NACE International. He is also a Fellow of NACE International. He has won several teaching awards while at UVa, including an All University Teaching Award in 2004. He was the 2001 recipient of the Robert T. Foley Award from the National Capital Section of ECS. He has rendered technical assistance to the NRC and DOE concerning the Yucca Mountain Project, the USAF Aging Aircraft Program, the NASA Safety and Engineering Center, and the 9/11 Pentagon Memorial designteam. Professor Kelly is a member of ECS, NACE, and ASM. He has been active in ECS for over 15 years, including holding all of the offices in the ECS Corrosion Division Executive Committee and the National Capital Section. In addition, he has served on numerous committees for ECS.

Jen Warner wins best student lecture award

Jen Warner was awarded the Best Student Lecture prize for her talk given to the 8th International Conference on Fatigue Damage of Structural Metals.
This meeting was held in Hyannis, MA and attended by about 150 specialists from all over the world. Vipul Gupta and Jimmy Burns also presented outstanding talks; the competition for best-in-class was stiff.

Tomohiro Aburada and Jen Warner present at Gordon Research Conference

Tomohiro Aburada and Jenifer Warner recently presented their PhD research results as 2 of the twelve invited talks at the 2010 Gordon Research Seminar on Aqueous Corrosion which preceded the GRC Conference. Having two Ph.D students representing the department (as well as the Center for Electrochemical Science and Engineering) with invited talks is prestigious. 

From the twelve seminar talks, the organizers selected two presentations to be given to the full conference in the morning-evening sequence of week-long sessions.
Jen’s work was chosen, along with that of an Ohio State Fontana Center post doc, and she thus earned the distinct experience of making a technical presentation to the best international scientists in the field, including the inimitable GRC question-answer experience cutting across several disciplines.

Ryan Comes Awarded Presitigious National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship

Ryan Comes, a PhD student in Engineering Physics, has been selected to receive a 2010 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship. Sponsored by the Department of Defense, the fellowship is highly competitive, with the 2010 pool of applications exceeding 2,600. The three-year fellowship offers awardees full tuition, stipend, and provides awardees greater latitude with their research so they may pursue their interests within the broadest scope.

Advised by Stu Wolf, Mr. Comes studies multiferroic oxides for use in magnetic quantum cellular automata, a magnetic alternative to electronic logic systems in use today.

Congratulations Ryan on this outstanding accomplishment!

MSE Publishes First Departmental Newsletter

MSE Newsletters available online!