Thursday, June 12, 2014

CESE Alum Paul Natishan wins H.H Uhlig Award

Congratulations to Paul Natishan (UVa MSE PhD '84) who has been selected as the Electrochemical Society's 2014 H.H. Uhlig Award winner. This is the highest technical award from the Corrosion Division of the Electrochemical Society.  Natishan previously served as president of E.C.S from 2009-2010, an ECS fellow since 2005, on the board for eight years, and has been active in ECS in many other roles.

Natishan is a leader in the field of marine corrosion and heads up the activities of the Navel Research Laboratories Corrosion Science Section. As well as holding seven U.S. Patents, he has published extensively in corrosion resistance, pitting, electrodepostited coatings, ion beam surface modification, and diamond-coated materials.

This award further distinguishes the Center for Electrochemical Science and Engineering, as it the second such award for the U.Va center. The 2009 awardee was U.VA Professor John Scully.

From NACE:

The H.H. Uhlig Award is given in recognition of outstanding effectiveness in post-secondary corrosion education at the undergraduate or graduate level as exhibited by an educator who excites their students through outstanding and innovative teaching in corrosion. To qualify, nominations must be received within 10 years of the nominee entering the field of education. An educator may qualify who has effectively conveyed and instilled in students the principles and applications of corrosion science and technology, and has stimulated students to enter professional pursuits in defining and mitigating corrosion problems.

Friday, June 6, 2014

Beth Opila elected ACerS fellow

The American Ceramic Society has announced its slate of nominees who will be elevated to Fellow status and Professor Beth Opila is among the 2014 inductees.

Fellowship within the American Ceramic Society recognizes individuals who have shown “outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences, broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry, or by outstanding service to the Society.”

The 2014 class will be inducted at the Annual Honors and Awards Banquet on Monday, October 13, 2014 in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Founded in 1898, The American Ceramic Society is the leading professional membership organization for ceramic and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators, and students. The Society serves more than 9,000 members from more than 70 countries.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Welcome New Ph.D. Student Jeroen Deijkers

Welcome our new Ph.D. student Jeroen Deijkers.  Jeroen was born and raised in Sprundel, The Netherlands.  His research interest includes finding new methods and materials that can withstand high temperatures.  In his spare time, he likes to watch movies, go on a quest to find the most delicious specialty beers as well as enjoy the outdoors.  Welcome Jeroen!