Sunday, January 1, 2006

Edgar A. Starke, Jr., Chosen as the Recipient of the TMS/Structural Material Division's 2006 Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made a long-lasting contribution to the fundamental understanding of microstructure, properties and performance of structural materials for industrial applications.

Past Recipients of the Structural Material Division's Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award

Mark Loeffler Recieves Outstanding Student Paper Award from the American Geophysical Union

Mark Loeffler has been selected to receive an Outstanding Student Paper Award for his presentation at the 2006 Joint Assembly of the American Geophysical Union. Loeffler's presentation of his paper entitled "Hydrogen peroxide and water ice out of equilibrium: Implications for the outer solar system" was recognized as among the best of a strong group of student presenters, setting an example for fellow students and the entire AGU membership.

Outstanding Student Paper Award winners will be announced in an upcoming publication of Eos, the weekly newspaper of AGU.

Chris Taylor, PhD Selected to Receive the 2006 Gwathmey Memorial Award

Chris Taylor, a PhD student in Engineering Physics, has been selected to receive the 2006 Gwathmey Memorial Award. This is the highest recognition given to a graduate student for demonstrated achievement through a dissertation or literature paper, as well as for strong career potential in fundamental science. Mr. Taylor's winning paper will soon appear in Physical Review B.

Title: First principles reaction modeling of the electrochemical interface: Consideration and calculation of a tunable surface potential from atomic and electronic structure.

Christopher D. Taylor, Sally A. Wasileski, Jean-Sebastien Filhol, Matthew Neurock

His advisors are Professors Matthew Neurock and Robert Kelly.

Congratulations Chris on this outstanding accomplishment!

NACE/2006 International Poster Session Awardees

Hongbo Cong, 1st place
Mars Fontana Award

Noah Budiansky, 2nd place
Marcel Pouraix Award

Sami Al-Ghamdi, 3rd place
Mars Fontana Award

Marta Jacob, 2005 Graduate
AB Campbell Award 

Nitin Singh, PhD candidate of MSE, Receives SEAS Outstanding Teaching Award

Nitin Singh selected recently for a SEAS-wide Outstanding Teaching Award for Graduate Teaching Assistants for his work in MSE 209. He is now being considered for a University-wide GTA award.

Congratulations Nitin!

John Scully Elected ECS Fellow and Awarded F. L. LaQue Award of ASTM

ECS Fellow
Fellow of The Electrochemical Society, Inc.
Established: 1989 for "individual contributions and leadership in the achievement of science and technology in the area of electrochemistry and solid state sciences and current active participation in the affairs of The Electrochemical Society."

Francis L. LaQue Award of the ASTM International
Professor Scully has been honored with the 2005 Francis LaQue Memorial Award by the ASTM International Committee G01 on Corrosion of Metals. Committee G01 cited Scully "for his numerous contributions in the development of standards to address corrosion issues; in recognition of his high level of integrity, fairness, technical and leadership expertise; and for his outstanding achievements as an academician in the field of corrosion technology."

Congratulations Professor Scully!

Bill Johnson wins nstructor of the Year for Distance Learning Faculty Award

Professor William C. Johnson
2006 Instructor of the Year for Distance Learning Faculty Award

Prof. James F. Groves, Assistant Dean for Research and Outreach, presented the award in recognition of excellence and dedication to distance education.

Last year Professor Johnson was awarded the 2005 VEF Distinguished Faculty Award, one of the highest SEAS-based awards given in recognition of world-class education in the classroom and beyond.

Congratulations again Professor Johnson!