Thursday, January 1, 2009

Dana Elzey recieves 2009 Mac Wade Award for Outstanding Service

Dana Elzey received the 2009 Mac Wade Award for Outstanding Service. Professor Elzey directs the Office of International Programs for the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the Rodman Scholars Program. This award recognizes his tireless efforts working with students and his outstanding service to SEAS. The Mac Wade Award is presented in memory of Freeman McMillan Wade, Class of 1952, who was killed in action in the Korean War. It is awarded annually to the group, faculty member, or student who has rendered outstanding service to the School of Engineering and Applied Science. 

James Wollmershauser selected for Seaborg Institute Summer Research Fellowship

James Wollmershauser has been selected as one of only a handful of graduate students nationwide to receive a Seaborg Institute Summer Research Fellowship.Sponsored by the Department of Energy, the Department of Homeland Security and the G. T. Seaborg Institute for Transactinium Science, the fellowship supports independent student research at Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Advised by Professor Sean Agnew, Mr Wollmershauser's research has concentrated on abnormal behavior in B2 Intermetallics. Congratulations, Mr. Wollmershauser!