Friday, January 4, 2013

Andrew King earns NACE 2013 A.B. Campbell Award

Congratulations to Andrew King (MSE PhD) who has recently been selected as the 2013 A.B. Campbell Award recipient from the National Association of Corrosion Engineers. The A.B. Campbell Award recognizes the most outstanding manuscript published in Materials Performance or CORROSION Journal during the previous year by an author under 35 years of age at the time of submission.

Amongst the previous award winners are two U.Va faculty with the Center for Electrochemical Science and Engineering, a former MSE CESE student currently completing her post-doctoral experience, and four other UVa MSE CESE students, including Josh James (MSE MS 08').

King will give his award acceptance address at the CORROSION/13 conference in March.

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

John Scully Earns Willis Rodney Whitney Award

The WR Whitney Award is the highest technical honor given by NACE International, the largest international professional society concerned with corrosion science and engineering.

The award is given "in recognition of individuals who have made significant contributions to corrosion science, such as the development or improvement of a theory that provides a more fundamental understanding of corrosion phenomena and/or the prevention of corrosion." Prof. Scully will be speaking on his many contributions in the area of hydrogen embrittlement when he gives the award address at the NACE International meeting in Salt Lake City in March of 2013.

Having won the Campbell Award of NACE (for best paper by a young author, in 1985) and the Uhlig Award, Scully has achieved the “triple crown” of awards bestowed in electrochemical and corrosion engineering.

For those in the field, previous Whitney Award winners include Evans, Uhlig, Wagner, Hoar, Stern, Brown, Vermilyea, Parkins, Staehle, Kurger, Rapp, Shibata, Galvele and Newman.

In January, Prof. Scully also began his term as technical editor of the journalCorrosion. Scully was a unanimous choice of the NACE Publications Administration Committee for this editing post.